Flemish Baroque

Paris Art Studies – Flemish Baroque painting at the Musée Marmottan


1598-1621 – The southern Netherlands are under Spanish Hapsburg jurisdiction (the Hapsburgs had inherited the former territories of the duchy of Burgundy in the late 15th century) governed by the popular princely couple of Archduke Albert and his wife Isabella.

1609-21 – Twelve year Truce with the rebellious northern provinces ushers in a period of peace and prosperity. Antwerp is the chief port of the southern Netherlands and the heart of its art market and production. The court lives in Brussels which becomes the 2nd most important art center.

1621-48 – Thirty years War. In 1648 with the peace of Westphalia Spain recognizes at last the independence of the United Provinces of the north.

1647-56 - Archduke Leopold Wilhelm is named governor of the Spanish Netherlands. He will amass in Brussels one of the greatest art collections of the century.

1672 – French invasion of the northern Netherlands under Louis XIV leads to a great financial crisis, collapse of the Amsterdam stock market and the Dutch art market.

1713-94 – The southern provinces of the Netherlands and Luxembourg are transferred to Hapsburg Austria after the conclusion of the war of the Spanish succession (1701-14) between France and Spain and the rest of Europe.

1793 – The French revolutionary armies sweep through the Austrian Netherlands, which are annexed to France until the fall of Napoleon in 1814.

1801 – Founding under the French Revolutionary authorities of the first Art Museum in Brussels. The first collections were made up by works confiscated by French agents in the Netherlands and left there in 1794-95. More works retrieved from France were added after the fall off Napoleon in 1814.

1815-30 – A United Kingdom of the Netherlands incorporating the old Austrian Netherlands is created under the rule of William VI King of Holland.

1830 – The southern provinces rebel against the north. Founding of the independent state of Belgium, accession to the throne of Leopold I in 1831.

1842 – The municipal museum of art becomes a national institution, the Royal museum of Art in 1842.


Artists in exhibition:


Jacques d’Arthois (Brussels 1613 – Brussels 1686)

Paul Bril (Breda or Antwerp 1533/54 - Rome 1626)

Abraham Brueghel (Antwerp 1631 – Naples 1697)

Jan Peeter Brueghel (Antwerp 1628 - ?)

Gaspar de Crayer (Antwerp 1584 - Ghent 1669)

Anthony van Dyck (Antwerp 1599 - London 1641)

Bertholet Flémal (Liège 1614 - Liège 1675)

Cornelis Norbertus Gysbrechts (master in Antwerp 1659/60)

Jan Fyt (Antwerp 1611 - Antwerp 1661)

Jacob Jordaens (Antwerp 1593 - Antwerp 1678)

Gérard de Lairesse (Liège 1640 – Amsterdam 1711)

Frans de Momper (Antwerp 1603 - Antwerp 1660)

Jacob van Oost the Elder (Bruges 1603 - Bruges 1671)

Peter Paul Rubens (Siegen 1577 - Antwerp 1640)

David III Ryckaert (Antwerp 1612 - Antwerp 1661)

Wilhelm Schubert von Ehrenberg (Germany 1630 or 1637 – Antwerp c. 1676)

Cornelis Schut (Antwerp 1597 - Antwerp 1655)

Jan Siberechts (Antwerp 1627 - London 1700/03)

Peeter Snayers (Antwerp 1592 – Brussels after 1666)

Jan Peeter Brueghel (Antwerp 1628 - ?)

Peter Snijers (Antwerp 1681 – Antwerp 1752)

Karel Philips Spierinck (Brussels c. 1600 - Rome 1639)

David Teniers the Younger (Antwerp 1610 - Brussels 1690)

Gillis van Tilborch (Antwerp? c. 1625 - Brussels c. 1678)

Lucas van Uden (Antwerp 1595 - Antwerp 1673)

Adriaen van Utrecht (Antwerp 1599 - Antwerp 1652)

Lodewijk de Vadder (Antwerp 1597 - Antwerp 1655)

Cornelis de Vos (Hulst 1585 – Antwerp 1651)

Artus Wolfort (Antwerp 1581 – Antwerp 1641)